5 comments on “Recent Progress

  1. I’ve misplaced my book “boat building for beginners …” I was wondering if you could email me a copy of the page showing the sail placement. Measurement to the rope used to hoist the sail and the measurement on the bottom where sail is tied to the mast. I haven’t worked on the boat for a while and I’m sooooo close to being finished. Thanks in advance. I hope I’m clear about what I need.

  2. Hans:

    Pretreating is not needed if you epoxy-coated all of the wood as many builders do. Even if you did not, pre-treating with varnish s not necessary, but I have found it to be helpful in wood projects. In my experience, whatever I use as first coat seems to disappear into the wood, requiring further applications, especially on low-quality plywood. Putting on thinned varnish, lightly sanded, provides a harder, less porous surface and seems to require less coats of paint. Pre-coating with varnish also makes the wood, in theory, just a bit more water resistant. Understand that my boat was built very economically – I used ACX outdoor plywood without coating applying an epoxy pre-coat because this boat will be stored indoors. If you are storing your boat outdoors, consider coating all plywood with epoxy. In that instance , the varnish pre-coat is unnecessary.

    For my other boats, I’ve used expensive marine-branded varnishes. For pre-coating , you can use anything – I used Minwax Helmsan from Home Depot, which is 1/3 the price. I think I treated the whole boat. The paint is holding up very well, but I’ve only had the boat on the water about 10 times. As expected, it shows wear where the boom and yard touch the mast and at the halyard hole at the top of the mast. But the paint has a nice gloss that you won’t get with the floor and porch paints that many use to building Michalak boats.

    I thinned the varnish by adding about 10% by volume of thinner to whatever varnish I already poured. The ratio is not critical, I estimated it visually, I did not measure it. The point is of using the varnish is to get the varnish to further penetrate the wood surface.

    Hope this helps. Where are you located?

    Steve

Leave a Reply

